Perry Township is located on the west side of Evansville in western Vanderburgh County. The Township is surrounded on 3 sides by the winding Ohio River. Established in 1959, this all-volunteer department includes 45 personnel and 12 apparatus that respond from 3 stations. PTFD provides Fire, Rescue, Water Rescue and Medical First-Response protection to the residents of Perry and Union Townships. Their area includes 55 square miles and 25,400 residents including the University of Southern Indiana (USI).